Edit Menu

The Edit menu contains most of the commands you will need to edit a graphic. If you are a menu-oriented person, you will access this menu frequently. I feel that most of the commands on this menu are better utilized by keyboard shortcuts or by using buttons on the Toolbar.


Undo

Shortcut: (Ctrl) Z

This selection will "undo" your most recent command. You will probably use this feature by clicking on the Undo icon on the Toolbar. When you invoke Undo from the Menu, the Undo command will be followed by the name of the latest command you performed.


Redo

Shortcut: (Ctrl-Alt) Z

As the opposite of Undo, Redo re-performs the last command. As with the Undo feature, you will probably use this feature by clicking on the Redo icon on the Toolbar. As with undo, the name on the menu will be followed by the name of the last command.


Repeat

Shortcut: (Ctrl) Y

This command will repeat the last command you issued. Again, this command is most conveniently invoked by clicking on the button on the Toolbar or typing the shortcut keys and will appear on the menu with the name of the last command.


Command History

Shortcut: (Shift-Ctrl) Z

This is definitely the handiest feature on this menu. When you invoke the Command History, you are presented with a dialog box listing your most recent activities.

With this dialog box, you can undo or redo several contiguous commands simultaneously. Highlight the commands you want to undo or redo, then click on the button. Once you have activated Undo on commands, the Command History dialog box will then list those commands with a Redo next to them and the Undo button will become a Redo button when they are selected. This is handy if you Undo several commands, then change your mind and want to Redo them.


Cut

Shortcut: (Ctrl) X

Cut will remove a selection from the graphic and place it into the clipboard. This command is best invoked by using the keyboard shortcut unless you are a mouse-click oriented person. In that case, click on the Cut icon on the Standard Toolbar.


Copy

Shortcut: (Ctrl) C

Copy puts a copy of a selection to the clipboard. Again, this command is most suited to using the keyboard shortcut or clicking on the icon on the Toolbar.


Copy Merged

Shortcut: (Shift-Ctrl) C

Copy Merged copies data from all layers in a graphic rather than just the current layer. All the layers are then merged into a single layer in the clipboard. When copying a selection, it copies and merges the selection area from all the layers.

When you are working on a layered image, and you want to retain the layered image but you want a merged copy of the image, this is the quickest way to accomplish the task. Choose Copy Merged, then Paste as a new image.


Paste

Once you have copied an image or part of an image to the clipboard, you will then need to decide how you want to paste the image. Your choices are:

As a New Image

Shortcut: (Ctrl) V

When you choose this option to paste, Paint Shop Pro will create a new image from the contents of the clipboard. If you are pasting an irregularly shaped selection, the selection will be pasted into a new image on a transparent background.

As a New Layer

Shortcut: (Ctrl) L

When you choose to paste as a new layer, Paint Shop Pro creates a new layer above the currently active layer and pastes the contents of the clipboard. If your selection is a raster selection, the new layer will be a raster layer. If your selection is a vector selection, the new layer will be a vector layer.

Dead Center - When you paste a selection as a new layer, the selection will be placed dead center on your graphic. This is a very handy way to center text or graphics on an image.

As a New Selection

Shortcut: (Ctrl) E

Pasting an image As a New Selection is one of the most useful of the paste options. When you paste As a New Selection the image you paste remains selected under the cursor. This is very useful when you paste an image onto a graphic and you are not sure where you want to place it. Since your image is selected, you can move the image to a new position before you right click on the selection to drop it.

As a Transparent Selection

Shortcut: (Shift-Ctrl) E

When you paste an image as a transparent selection, Paint Shop sets the current background color as the transparent color. This means that all pixels of the background color will become transparent when you paste the image. The following graphic demonstrates this technique. The picture of the left is the selected image with the background color set to the gray background in the image. The picture on the right is the result of pasting the selected graphic on the left onto a white graphic.

Into Selection

Shortcut: (Shift-Ctrl) L

If you paste a selection from a graphic into a selected area, the selected image being pasted will conform to the new selection. This can be very useful, but it can also produce distorted images if the selected area is proportionally different than the selection being pasted.

AS Animation as Multiple Images

You can use this function to paste images copied in Animation Shop into Paint Shop Pro.

As a New Vector Selection

If the currently active selection is a vector selection, you can choose this option to paste as a new vector selection. This works the same as choosing "As a New Selection" when the selection is a raster selection. If you create a new vector layer on your graphic, then use this paste option, you can create a duplicate of one element of a vector layer.


Clear

Shortcut: (Delete key)

This command clears the image and either fills the image with the currently active background color (if you are on a background layer) or clears to a transparency (if you are on a transparent layer). Since hitting the Delete key is so much easier than choosing Edit>Clear, you will probably never use the menu to execute this command.


Update Back to Animation Shop

This command will send all the graphics you exported from Animation Shop back to Animation Shop in an updated format.


Empty

clipboard

Empty clipboard will empty the clipboard of the most recent copy command. This is useful if you are running out of memory and have recently copied a large graphic.

Command History

Empty Command History will empty the Command History buffer. When you set your preferences for Undo, you can limit the number of Undo/Redo commands you can perform. If you have set this to a high number, you can strain your resources. Choosing to empty the Command History will free resources.